ANSI Four Schema Model

Search this site with Google

IABoK image 4level_schema

A description of the four main types of data model originally created by ANSI in the 1970s. The model defines four categories of data model:

Relation to Information Architecture

The task of data modelling has traditionally focused on the creation of efficient ways to represent the required information. Information Architecture's role in contrast is usually to define the constraints that the users impose on the eventual system.

This means that Information Architects must be careful to not indulge themselves in "data modelling", they must document what the users need, not how to provide it for them. Even if the person acting as the Information Architect and the Data Modeler are the same person a clear "separation of concerns" will help in the long run.

Links to this page

The following pages link to here: Conceptual Schema, Data Model, Data Modeling Language, External Schemas, Logical Data Model, Physical Data Model

Comment on the contents of the 'ANSI Four Schema Model' page
Subject: Email to Reply To (optional):